Yeah, about that Game 3 OT win for the Admirals. The one that brought them within 1 win of the Calder Cup. The one with the insanely flukey goal by Mike Koskta? According to the AHL rules, it shouldn’t have counted.
In case you missed it, here it is:
That’s pretty insane, right? How often do we see pucks in sent in exactly like that that don’t result in goals. Unfortunately for the Marlies, the puck careened off a stanchion when goalie Ben Scrivens was out of the net to play the puck so there was no stopping it from heading into the goal on a weird bounce. There wouldn’t have been any debate if Norfolk players hadn’t been in the zone on a delayed offsides call.
It turns out that according to the AHL rules, the tally shouldn’t have counted. Luckily for the Admirals, the league by-laws don’t allow for the result of a game to be changed based an incorrect rule interpretation.