Oh Dubi. I’ve yelled at you for being an idiot on the ice but that was when you took a stupid penalty for hooking or holding. Or iced the puck when you shouldn’t have. Or went offsides which you always liked to do while on an odd man rush. Not because you took a five-minute major that led to a phone call with Brendan Shanahan the next day. But that’s what you did last night and well as the video shows:
I get what you were trying to do. Maybe it’s because I’ve watched you for years and know you aren’t the type of player to throw a bad hit but I see it. You were just trying to finish your check by rubbing Scuderi out. And you did. Elbow wasn’t raised, feet didn’t leave the ice, it wasn’t a direct hit to the head…you followed all those rules. Problem was Scuderi was looking at the boards meaning a hit would put his face into them so that immediately is no longer allowed. And you know that.
So what happened? Apparently Shanahan agreed there was no malicious intent and you escaped with just a fine. Granted it was a $10,000 fine now that the amount has been raised in the new CBA but at least you will be on the ice against Calgary tomorrow.
Personally I think it was the right call. I’m just surprised Shanahan made it. (Maybe the previous history between the two, they did play on a line together a few years ago, helped.) I will say, though, I enjoyed the fight that took place due to the hit as I miss seeing you fight Mike Richards. Apparently he doesn’t agree.