Duke to Host 2014 NCAA First & Second Round Games

On Wednesday, the NCAA Tournament announced the host sites for the 2014 NCAA Tournament. The Duke women’s basketball team and Cameron Indoor Stadium was chosen as one of 16 host sites for the first and second round games.

2014_Women's_Final_Four_LogoThis will be the second straight year that the Blue Devils were chosen to host. Meaning, the ladies most likely will be playing their first two NCAA Tournament games on their home court.

They have won 18 straight NCAA Tourney games at Cameron and are 20-2 overall at home in the tourney. Duke has hosted the first and second rounds in 11 of 19 tournament appearances.

The other 15 host sites for the first and second rounds are: Ames, Iowa (Iowa State), Baton Rouge, La. (LSU), Chapel Hill, N.C. (UNC), College Park, Md. (Maryland), College Station, Texas (Texas A&M), Iowa City, Iowa (Iowa), Knoxville, Tenn. (Tennessee), Lexington, Ky. (Kentucky), Los Angeles, Calif. (UCLA), Seattle, Wash. (Washington), Storrs, Conn. (UConn), Toledo, Ohio (Toledo), University Park, Penn. (Penn State); Waco, Texas (Baylor), and West Lafayette, Ind. (Purdue).

The four regional sites selected were Stanford, Notre Dame, Louisville, and Nebraska.

That gives the ACC three host sites in the first two rounds and one regional site host.

Leave a Reply