College Football Playoff selection committee becomes official

So long, BCS. There’s about to be a new group of decision makers choosing who gets to play for the national championship.

The College Football Playoff’s selection committee was announced today, and the group is made up of members from all different backgrounds:

  • image04292013160514Jeff Long, (Arkansas’ AD)
  • Barry Alvarez (Wisconsin’s AD)
  • Pat Haden (Southern Cal’s AD)
  • Oliver Luck (West Virginia’s AD)
  • Dan Radakovich (Clemson’s AD)
  • Tyrone Willingame (former coach)
  • Tom Osborne (former coach/AD)
  • Archie Manning (former player)
  • Tom Jernstedt (former NCAA vice president)
  • Mike Tranghese (former Big East commissioner)
  • Steve Wieberg (former sports reporter)
  • Lt. Gen. Michael Gould (former player and Superintendent of the Air Force Academy)
  • Condoleezza Rice (former politician, currently a professor at Stanford)

Long will chair the committee, which will meet a few times in person during the regular season and then again during selection weekend. Though the panel includes people who are currently employed by universities who may be in the mix come decision time, the ADs will not represent their individual conferences.

The committee will ultimately decide on four playoff teams, and will use a variety of criteria when making their choice, including: a team’s record, strength of schedule, head to head results and conference championships won.

At today’s press conference revealing the members of the committee, Bill Hancock, executive director of the College Football Playoff, had this to say:

“We wanted people of the highest integrity for this committee, and we got them. Every one of them has vast football knowledge, excellent judgment, dedication and love for this game.

They will no doubt have one of the hardest jobs in sports. But their skills and wide variety of experiences from coaches and athletes to university leaders and journalists will ensure that they will be successful. And they are committed to investing the time and effort necessary for this endeavor. We are grateful that they will be serving this terrific game of college football.”

The College Football Playoff committee will replace the BCS starting next season.

Leave a Reply